The Broadsword And The Beast - 40th Anniversary Monster Edition 5CD/3DVD - Sealed

JETHRO TULL The Broadsword And The Beast (40th Anniversary Monster Edition 2023 UK/EU 5CD/3DVD set, featuring the Original Album, Associated Demo Recordings, Master Mixes, Rough Mixes, and 1982 Concert Performances mixed to Stereo and Surround Sound by Steven Wilson. Housed inside a hardback 164-page digibook case, factory sealed. Recommended)

click on this image to enlarge
Price Info
$107.09, £84.99  
Product Availability In stock. Order now for shipping on Tuesday 12th December
Release Date 1st Sep 2023
Release Year 2023
Condition Unless stated otherwise in the description above, all items are in at least excellent condition - so please read our descriptions carefully. We try to sell items as close to Mint condition as possible, and many will indeed be close to brand new and/or unplayed. Others may be 'used' - and all will meet our strict grading and are 100% guaranteed.
Shipping Cost Add item to your basket to see shipping quote
Format CD Album Box Set
Record Label Chrysalis
Complete Stock List Go to Jethro Tull or visit our Jethro Tull collectors store
Product Catalogue No 0190296436079
Music Genre Progressive, 70s Artists, 70s Rock, 60s Rock
Country Comes from UK Comes from 'UK'
Tracklisting & More Information

Jethro Tull’s 1982 album ‘The Broadsword and the Beast’ will be celebrated in a brand-new 5CD+3DVD set, The Vinyl Edition. Out 1st September 2023 alongside the release of ‘The Vinyl Edition’, 4LP. The 40th Anniversary packages includes new mixes from Steven Wilson, demos, rough mixes, live recordings and sessions from 1981.

This 5CD+3DVD ‘Monster Edition’ includes a 164-page book with interviews with band members, a track-by-track annotation by Ian Anderson, an interview with sleeve illustrator Iain McCaig, an extensive interview with studio and live sound engineer Leigh Mantle, a recreation of the 1982 tour programme and touring schedule, and rare photos and memorabilia. The set will include ‘The Broadsword and The Beast’, A Steven Wilson stereo remix, associated recordings, demo recordings, the original 1981 master mixes and live In Germany 1982.

‘The Broadsword and the Beast’ is the 14th studio album by Jethro Tull, released on 10 April 1982 and according to Ian Anderson in the liner notes of the remastered CD, contains some of Jethro Tull’s best music. This album's masterful storytelling, accompanied by Ian Anderson's unmistakable flute melodies, garnered critical acclaim and has become a fan favourite over the years. The album mixes electronic sound, provided by Peter-John Vettese (a characteristic that would be explored further on the next album Under Wraps) with acoustic instruments.

‘The Broadsword and the Beast’ is a cross between the synthesiser sound of the 1980s and the folk-influenced style that Tull had in the previous decade.

1 Beastie
2 Clasp
3 Fallen On Hard Times
4 Flying Colours
5 Slow Marching Band
6 Broadsword
7 Pussy Willow
8 Watching Me, Watching You
9 Seal Driver
10 Cheerio
11 Fallen On Hard Times (1st Master, Dec '81 Sessions)
12 Beastie (2nd Master, Dec '81 Sessions)
13 Fallen On Hard Times (2nd Master, Dec '81 Sessions)
14 Seal Driver (1st Master, Dec '81 Sessions)
15 Cheerio (Ensemble Vocal Version)
16 Jack-A-Lynn
17 Beastie Shouts!

1 Roland's Entry (Instrumental)
2 Lights Out
3 The Curse (Version 1)
4 The Curse (Version 2)
5 Too Many Too
6 Calafel (Instrumental)
7 I'm Your Gun
8 No Step
9 Down at the End of Your Road
10 Mayhem Maybe (With 1988 Overdubs)
11 Commons Brawl (With 1993 Overdubs)
12 Return to Calafel (Instrumental)
13 Jack Frost and the Hooded Crow
14 The Swirling Pit (Instrumental)
15 Inverness Sleeper
16 Crew Nights (Combined Version) [with Some 1993 Overdubs]
17 Rhythm in Gold
18 Overhang (With 1988 Overdubs)
19 Jack-A-Lynn (Band Version)
20 Motoreyes
21 Drive On the Young Side of Life (With 1993 Overdubs)

1 Flying Colours
2 Me, Dinosaur
3 Crew Nights
4 Rhythm in Gold
5 Honest Girl
6 DJ Dream
7 Seal Driver
8 Jack-A-Lynn
9 Fallen On Hard Times
10 Drive On the Young Side of Life
11 Beastie
12 Too Many Too
13 I'm Your Gun
14 Down at the End of Your Road
15 Jack Frost and the Hooded Crow
16 Slow Marching Band
17 Pussy Willow
18 Fallen On Hard Times
19 Theakston Music Festival Advert

1 Clasp (Live in Germany 1982)
2 Hunting Girl (Live in Germany 1982)
3 Fallen On Hard Times (Live in Germany 1982)
4 Pussy Willow (Live in Germany 1982)
5 Broadsword (Live in Germany 1982)
6 Jack-in-the-green (Live in Germany 1982)
7 One Brown Mouse (Live in Germany 1982)
8 Seal Driver (Live in Germany 1982)
9 Heavy Horses (Live in Germany 1982)
10 Weathercock/Fire at Midnight (Live in Germany 1982)
11 Keyboard Instrumental (Live in Germany 1982)
12 Sweet Dream (Live in Germany 1982)

1 Flying Colours (Live in Germany 1982)
2 Songs from the Woods (Live in Germany 1982)
3 Watching Me, Watching You (Live in Germany 1982)
4 Band Introductions (Live in Germany 1982)
5 The Swirling Pit (Live in Germany 1982)
6 Pibroch/Black Satin Dancer (Live in Germany 1982)
7 Beastie (Live in Germany 1982)
8 Too Old to Rock 'N' Roll: Too Young to Die! (Live in Germany 1982)
9 Aqualung (Live in Germany 1982)
10 Minstrel in the Gallery (Live in Germany 1982)
11 Locomotive Breath/Black Sunday (Live in Germany 1982)
12 Cheerio (Live in Germany 1982)

1 The Broadsword and the Beast Remixed to 96/24 LPCM Stereo and DTS and Dolby Digital 5.1 Surround Sound + Flat Transfer of the 1982 Original Mix And...

1 Associated Recordings Remixed to 96/24 LPCM Stereo and DTS and Dolby Digital 5.1 Surround Sound

1 Live in Germany (As Per Discs 4 & 5) Remixed to 96/24 LPCM Stereo and DTS and Dolby Digital 4.1 Surround Sound

Recording Artist Jethro Tull
Product Title The Broadsword And The Beast - 40th Anniversary Monster Edition 5CD/3DVD - Sealed
Product Information Jethro Tull The Broadsword And The Beast - 40th Anniversary Monster Edition 5CD/3DVD - Sealed UK CD Album Box Set.
Language All tracks are sung in English, unless otherwise stated in our description.
Additional info
Artists Related To Aviator, Blodwyn Pig, Ian Anderson, Man Doki, Martin Barre, Mick Abrahams, People (UK), Wild Turkey
Product Barcode 190296436079
Email to contact our sales team
Alternatively Known As jethro tul
To Order Off Line or ask a question E-mail our sales team at
or call 011-44-844-264-0-991 quoting reference number TULDXTH818913 accept a range of card payments!

we pay top prices for Jethro Tull records, CD and memorabilia
View a printer friendly version of this page view a printer friendly version of this page
<< back |  next >>


Close X


To get 10% off, visit our new mobile friendly site (by clicking the logo below)

var ju_num="1CD30569-E7C3-4F7F-A9C4-CCCE1CB102AE";var asset_host=(("https:"==document.location.protocol)?"https":"http")+'://';(function() {var s=document.createElement('script');s.type='text/javascript';s.async=true;s.src=asset_host+'coupon_code1.js';var x=document.getElementsByTagName('script')[0];x.parentNode.insertBefore(s,x);})();