Country Life - Test Pressing

DELANEY & BONNIE Country Life (Ridiculously rare test pressing for Atco's intended 1972 US 12-track LP, scheduled for release under a 'SD33-383' catalogue number, this album was not just withdrawn but never reached the final production stage in this original form [only an 8-track cartridge tape was rushed into final production under this title]. This earliest version features the original mixes, the original running sequence & all eight minutes of TryA Little Harder, not included on D & B Together [Country Life was eventually released in a different form as D & B Together], & also stars Eric Clapton, Leon Russell, Duane Allman, Dave Mason, John Hartford, Billy Preston, Tina Turner & Steve Cropper. Please see 'more info' for full details of this one-off, unique rarity... SD33-383)

click on this image to enlarge
Price Info
Product Availability Currently Unavailable - You can request the next copy of this item
Release Year 1972 - 47 years ago
Condition Unless stated otherwise in the description above, all items are in at least excellent condition - so please read our descriptions carefully. We try to sell items as close to Mint condition as possible, and many will indeed be close to brand new and/or unplayed. Others may be 'used' - and all will meet our strict grading and are 100% guaranteed.
Shipping Cost Add item to your basket to see shipping quote
Format vinyl LP album (LP record)
Record Label Columbia
Complete Stock List Go to Delaney & Bonnie
Product Catalogue No SD33-383
Music Genre 70s Artists, 70s Rock
Country Comes from USA Comes from 'USA'
click an image to view larger
Tracklisting & More Information

Untitled [test pressing tracklisting]
A1. Only You Know And I Know
A2. Sound Of The City
A3. I'm On Fire
A4. Superstar (Groupie)
A5. Well, Well
A6. I Know Something Good About You
A7. Wade In The River Jordan
B1. Country Life
B2. Big Change Comin'
B3. Coming Home
B4. Move 'Em Out
B5. Try A Little Bit Harder

Country Life [tracklisting for the 8-track cartridge tape as comparison]
1. Country Life
2. Big Change Comin'
3. Only You Know And I Know
4. Sound Of The City
5. I'm On Fire
6. Superstar (Groupie)
7. Move 'Em Out
8. Wade In The River Jordan
9. Try A Little Harder
10. Well, Well
11. I Know Something Good About You
12. Coming Home

D & B Together [tracklisting for the official Columbia LP as comparison]
A1 Only You Know And I Know
A2 Wade In The River Of Jordan
A3 Sound Of The City
A4 Well, Well
A5 I Know How It Feels To Be Lonely
A6 Comin' Home
B1 Move 'Em Out
B2 Big Change Comin'
B3 A Good Thing (I'm On Fire)
B4 Groupie (Superstar)
B5 I Know Something Good About You
B6 Country Life

The title Country Life was used for the eight-track cartridge but there is no actual reference to that title on this one-off test press.

The reason for this album being withdrawn at the initial stage was that Atco sold Delaney & Bonnie's contract & the subsequent master tapes of this album to CBS, reportedly after Atlantic executive Jerry Wexler discovered the duo's marriage was under strain. A similar fate occurred to the duo's earlier effort, The Original Delaney & Bonnie, albeit due to contractual problems between Elektra & Apple. 'Country Life' was soon re-sequenced, re-mixed & released as 'D & B Together' on Columbia [KC-31377, 1972].

The differences between the two versions can be seen in the order of the tracks [see above]. Try A Little Harder was flat out replaced by I Know How It Feels To Be Lonely. The track I'm On Fire was never released in this original form. The D & B Together version of 'A Good Thing (I'm On Fire)' was re-mixed & the guitar solo at the end of the song was cut out.

The exclusive 'Country Life' test pressing version of Try A Little Harder, a stunning, rip-roaring early seventies number no less, was later used on Delaney Bramlett's solo album, Some Things Coming [1972], however the song was edited down from 8:22 minutes to 6:13 & Bonnie Bramlett's vocals were re-recorded without Bonnie.

The labels are a custom Preswell Records studio design from the Ancora, NJ pressing plant & did not reach the annotation stage.

The matrices are hand scratched & read 'ST-C-712387[C scratched out]B' & 'ST-C-712388B'.

The record is housed in a heavy duty plain card sleeve with artist title, intended catalogue number [which is unique], matrices & a potential '1/5/72' release date which never happened.

This disc was produced purely to test the sound quality & never sold to the public or put out for review whatsoever, & is of great curiosity to a serious collector.

The vinyl is clean & remains in excellent condition with just a few light signs of play.

One & one only!

Recording Artist Delaney & Bonnie
Product Title Country Life - Test Pressing
Product Information Delaney & Bonnie Country Life - Test Pressing USA vinyl LP album (LP record).
Language All tracks are sung in English, unless otherwise stated in our description.
Additional info Deleted - A deleted or out-of-print item is one that is no longer manufactured. However, we stock thousands of out-of-print formats and we specialise in tracking down out-of-print, deleted and hard-to-find releases.
Artists Related To Arthur Louis, Blind Faith, Bonnie Bramlett, Colours, Cream, Delaney Bramlett, Derek And The Dominos, Doyle Bramhall II, Eric Clapton, Ginger Baker, Highly Committed Media Players, Jack Bruce, Jim Keltner, John Mayall, Legends (Jazz), Micky Waller, Steve Jordan, T.D.F. (Climie/Clapton), The Bunburys, Tim Hines, Willie Weeks
Product Barcode Not Available
Email to contact our sales team
Alternatively Known As Delaney and Bonnie
To Order Off Line or ask a question E-mail our sales team at
or call 011-44-844-264-0-991 quoting reference number D&BLPCO600200 accept a range of card payments!

we pay top prices for Delaney & Bonnie records, CD and memorabilia
View a printer friendly version of this page view a printer friendly version of this page
<< back |  next >>


var ju_num="1CD30569-E7C3-4F7F-A9C4-CCCE1CB102AE";var asset_host=(("https:"==document.location.protocol)?"https":"http")+'://';(function() {var s=document.createElement('script');s.type='text/javascript';s.async=true;s.src=asset_host+'coupon_code1.js';var x=document.getElementsByTagName('script')[0];x.parentNode.insertBefore(s,x);})();