Folk Songs

JAMES YORKSTON & THE BIG EYES FAMILY PLAYERS Folk Songs (2009 UK Strictly Limited Edition 3-disc [2CD/1DVD] set - James Yorkston returns in the company of The Big Eyes Family Players with a new album of traditional songs from the length and breadth of the Great Britain and Ireland, and one tune from Galicia in Spain. After a decade which has seen folk music morph into nu-folk, mobile phone-ad folk, mortgage-folk, smoothie-folk and so on, Yorkston has reached back into the tradition ofsong and place and drawn a line in the sand. In May, a new team of musicians were drawn from the Big Eye Players and other like minded souls, to record the 'Analogue Cat Sessions'. Recorded over three days the sessions see the band revisit songs from the original 'Folk Songs' album and other traditional songs that James has either played live or recorded as b-sides. What resulted is a vibrant and alive collection of songs, ringing with new arrangements and energy. The session was filmed and a selection of songs from the CD are included on the accompanying DVD; alongside a short film about the session recording [filmed by Institute For Eyes] and to round it all off, James Yorkston himself made a 3min short of the recording. Presented in a fold-out digipak picture sleeve complete with a Bonus A3 Poster!)**Strictly Limited to 1000 Copies ONLY**

click on this image to enlarge
Price Info
Product Availability Currently Unavailable - You can request the next copy of this item
Release Date 10th Aug 2009
Release Year 2009 - 10 years ago
Condition Unless stated otherwise in the description above, all items are in at least excellent condition - so please read our descriptions carefully. We try to sell items as close to Mint condition as possible, and many will indeed be close to brand new and/or unplayed. Others may be 'used' - and all will meet our strict grading and are 100% guaranteed.
Shipping Cost Add item to your basket to see shipping quote
Format 3-disc CD/DVD Set
Record Label Domino
Complete Stock List Go to James Yorkston
Product Catalogue No WIGCD236X
Music Genre Folk, Rock, 00s Artists, Funk, World Music, Singer/Songwriter, Electronica, Male Solo
Country Comes from UK Comes from 'UK'
Tracklisting & More Information

CD1 - Folk Songs:
1. Hills Of Greenmoor
2. Just As The Tide Was Flowing
3. Martinmas Time
4. Mary Connaught & James O’Donnell
5. Thorneymoor Woods
6. I Went To Visit The Roses
7. Pandeirada de Entrimo
8. Little Musgrave
9. Rufford Park Poachers
10. Sovay
11. Low Down In The Broom

Bonus CD - Analogue Cat Session:
1. Old Maid
2. I Know My Love
3. Blue Bleezin' Blind Drunk
4. Cornfield
5. Mary Connaught & James O'Donnell
6. Thorneymoor Woods
7. Just As The Tide Was Flowing
8. I Went To Visit The Roses
9. The Snow It Melts The Soonest
10. Lowlands Away
11. Martinmas Time

DVD - Analogue Cat Session:
1. I Know My Love
2. Blue Bleezin' Blind Drunk
3. Cornfield
4. I Went To Visit The Roses
5. Lowlands Away
6. Martinmas Time
7. Hares On The Mountain

Bonus Material:
8. A Wee Film About The Session
9. Folk Session Short

Recording Artist James Yorkston
Product Title Folk Songs
Product Information James Yorkston Folk Songs UK 3-disc CD/DVD Set.
Language All tracks are sung in English, unless otherwise stated in our description.
Additional info
Artists Related To
Product Barcode 5034202023647
Email to contact our sales team
Alternatively Known As None
To Order Off Line or ask a question E-mail our sales team at
or call 011-44-844-264-0-991 quoting reference number JT93DFO478773 accept a range of card payments!

we pay top prices for James Yorkston records, CD and memorabilia
View a printer friendly version of this page view a printer friendly version of this page
<< back |  next >>


var ju_num="1CD30569-E7C3-4F7F-A9C4-CCCE1CB102AE";var asset_host=(("https:"==document.location.protocol)?"https":"http")+'://';(function() {var s=document.createElement('script');s.type='text/javascript';s.async=true;s.src=asset_host+'coupon_code1.js';var x=document.getElementsByTagName('script')[0];x.parentNode.insertBefore(s,x);})();