Here Lies Love

DAVID BYRNE & FATBOY SLIM Here Lies Love (2010 UK 22-track 2-CD album set - Improbably poignant, decidedly surreal, surprisingly thought provoking, 'Here Lies Love' is a double-disc song cycle about the rise and fall of the Philippines' notoriousImelda Marcos, conceived by David Byrne; composed by Byrne and Fatboy Slim [aka Norman Cook]; and performed by a dream cast drawn from the worlds of indie rock, alt country, R&B and pop. Byrne's taste in collaborators is as imaginative as itisimpeccable, including Cyndi Lauper, Steve Earle, Dap-Kings vocalist Sharon Jones and Natalie Merchant. Along with vocals turns from such stars as Tori Amos and the B-52's Kate Pierson, Byrne works with rising indie rockers St Vincent and My Brightest Diamond; New York chanteuses Nellie McKay and Martha Wainwright; and dance-music divas Roisin Murphy and Santigold. Byrne himself appears as the voice of imperialistic America on 'American Troglodyte', a send-up that wouldn't have seemed out of places in Talking Heads' 'True Stories'. Presented in a sealed tri-fold digipak picture sleeve complete with a 24-page picture booklet in which David generously annotates each song in the CD booklet and illustrates the story with archival photos. In a detailed preface, he reveals what drew him to this subject and the bumpy route he took to launch the project and, ultimately, record this CD!)

click on this image to enlarge
Price Info
Product Availability Currently Unavailable - You can request the next copy of this item
Release Date 5th Apr 2010
Release Year 2010 - 9 years ago
Condition Unless stated otherwise in the description above, all items are in at least excellent condition - so please read our descriptions carefully. We try to sell items as close to Mint condition as possible, and many will indeed be close to brand new and/or unplayed. Others may be 'used' - and all will meet our strict grading and are 100% guaranteed.
Shipping Cost Add item to your basket to see shipping quote
Format 2 CD album set (Double CD)
Record Label Nonesuch
Complete Stock List Go to David Byrne
Product Catalogue No 7559798048
Music Genre Male Solo, Rock
Country Comes from UK Comes from 'UK'
Tracklisting & More Information

1. Here Lies Love - featuring Florence Welch [Florence & The Machine]
2. Every Drop Of Rain - featuring Candie Payne & St Vincent
3. You'll Be Taken Care Of - featuring Tori Amos
4. The Rose Of Tacloban - featuring Martha Wainwright
5. How Are You? - featuring Nellie McKay
6. A Perfect Hand - featuring Steve Earle
7. Eleven Days - featuring Cyndi Lauper
8. When She Passed By - featuring Allison Moorer
9. Walk Like A Woman - featuring Charmaine Clamor
10. Don't You Agree? - featuring Roisin Murphy
11. Pretty Face - featuring Camille
12. Ladies In Blue - featuring Theresa Andersson

1. Dancing Together - featuring Sharon Jones
2. Men Will Do Anything - featuring Alice Russell
3. The Whole Man - featuring Kate Pierson
4. Never So Big - featuring Sia
5. Please Don't - featuring Santi White [Santigold]
6. American Troglodyte
7. Solano Avenue - featuring Nicole Atkins
8. Order 1081 - featuring Natalie Merchant
9. Seven Years - featuring Shara Worden [My Brightest Diamond]
10. Why Don't You Love Me? - featuring Tori Amos & Cyndi Lauper

Recording Artist David Byrne
Product Title Here Lies Love
Product Information David Byrne Here Lies Love UK 2 CD album set (Double CD).
Language All tracks are sung in English, unless otherwise stated in our description.
Additional info
Artists Related To David Van Tieghem, Jerry Harrison, Love Of Life Orchestra, Talking Heads, The Heads, Tom Tom Club
Product Barcode 075597980486
Email to contact our sales team
Alternatively Known As None
To Order Off Line or ask a question E-mail our sales team at
or call 011-44-844-264-0-991 quoting reference number BYN2CHE502450 accept a range of card payments!

we pay top prices for David Byrne records, CD and memorabilia
View a printer friendly version of this page view a printer friendly version of this page
<< back |  next >>


var ju_num="1CD30569-E7C3-4F7F-A9C4-CCCE1CB102AE";var asset_host=(("https:"==document.location.protocol)?"https":"http")+'://';(function() {var s=document.createElement('script');s.type='text/javascript';s.async=true;s.src=asset_host+'coupon_code1.js';var x=document.getElementsByTagName('script')[0];x.parentNode.insertBefore(s,x);})();