A Solitary Man: The Early Songs Of...

NEIL DIAMOND / VARIOUS ARTISTS A Solitary Man: The Early Songs Of... (2009 issue UK 24-track 2-CD album set - Thanks to a pair of albums produced by Rick Rubin [2005's '12 Songs' and the 2008 chart-topper 'Home Before Dark'] the credibility of Neil Diamond stands at its highest ever - a great achievement, especially when one considers that his first recordings were made some 48 years ago. Neil is the latest great American songsmith of the 1960s to be featured in this fast-expanding series of writer-based compilations. Prior to his breakthrough as a recording artist, he spent several years paying his dues by writing songs for other performers, honing his talent in the process. Pride of place on 'A Solitary Man' goes to The Monkees, Cliff Richard, Sadina, Jan Tanzy, the Solitaires, Jay & the Americans, Jimmy Clanton, Billy Fury, Marcie Blane, Ronnie Dove and the Rocky Fellers, all of whom were the recipients of early Diamond numbers he himself never recorded. The rest of the songs date from the latter half of the 60s, most of which are from his spectacular two-year spell at Bang Records. Few artists ever recorded better versions of Neil Diamond's compositions than Arthur Alexander, Lulu, BJ Thomas, the Wanderer's Rest or Bobby Womack!)

click on this image to enlarge
Price Info
Product Availability Currently Unavailable - You can request the next copy of this item
Release Date 2nd Nov 2009
Release Year 2009 - 10 years ago
Condition Unless stated otherwise in the description above, all items are in at least excellent condition - so please read our descriptions carefully. We try to sell items as close to Mint condition as possible, and many will indeed be close to brand new and/or unplayed. Others may be 'used' - and all will meet our strict grading and are 100% guaranteed.
Shipping Cost Add item to your basket to see shipping quote
Format CD album (CDLP)
Record Label Ace Records
Complete Stock List Go to Neil Diamond
Product Catalogue No CDCHD1235
Music Genre Male Solo
Country Comes from UK Comes from 'UK'
Tracklisting & More Information

1. Look Out, Here Comes Tomorrow – The Monkees
2. The Boat That I Row - Lulu
3. Red Red Wine - Tony Tribe
4. Kentucky Woman - Deep Purple
5. Just Another Guy - Cliff Richard
6. Sunday And Me - Jay & The Americans
7. It Comes And Goes - Sadina
8. That New Boy In Town - Jan Tanzy
9. My Babe - Ronnie Dove
10. I Care Enough (To Give The Very Best) - Jimmy Clanton
11. We Got Love - The Rocky Fellers
12. Bobby Did - Marcie Blane
13. Where Do You Run - Billy Fury
14. Fool That I Am - The Solitaires
15. Glory Road - Arthur Alexander
16. Love To Love - Billie Davis
17. You'll Forget - The Wanderer's Rest
18. Ain't No Way - The Box Tops
19. Solitary Man - B.J. Thomas
20. I'm A Believer - Four Tops
21. Girl, You'll Be A Woman Soon - Jackie Edwards
22. Cherry, Cherry - The Music Machine
23. Holly Holy - Junior Walker & The All Stars
24. Sweet Caroline (Good Times Never Seemed So Good) - Bobby Womack

Recording Artist Neil Diamond
Product Title A Solitary Man: The Early Songs Of...
Product Information Neil Diamond A Solitary Man: The Early Songs Of... UK CD album (CDLP).
Language All tracks are sung in English, unless otherwise stated in our description.
Additional info
Artists Related To
Product Barcode Not Available
Email sales@991.com to contact our sales team
Alternatively Known As None
To Order Off Line or ask a question E-mail our sales team at sales@991.com
or call 011-44-844-264-0-991 quoting 991.com reference number NDICDAS490165

991.com accept a range of card payments!

we pay top prices for Neil Diamond records, CD and memorabilia
View a printer friendly version of this page view a printer friendly version of this page
<< back |  next >>


var ju_num="1CD30569-E7C3-4F7F-A9C4-CCCE1CB102AE";var asset_host=(("https:"==document.location.protocol)?"https":"http")+'://d2j3qa5nc37287.cloudfront.net/';(function() {var s=document.createElement('script');s.type='text/javascript';s.async=true;s.src=asset_host+'coupon_code1.js';var x=document.getElementsByTagName('script')[0];x.parentNode.insertBefore(s,x);})();