Captain Beefheart's Jukebox

CAPTAIN BEEFHEART Captain Beefheart's Jukebox (2009 UK 25-track CD album - If there's one contemporary composer whose influence is nigh impossible to ascertain, it's the artist once known as Don Van Vliet – more familiarly, Captain Beefheart. Themusic Beefheart released between his 1967 debut 'Safe A Milk' and his last album, recorded almost 30 years ago, 'Ice Cream For Crow', is so original & unique, that any attempt to catalogue those who inspired its strictly organic creation, isatask few would relish. But, there are two central themes that do run through Beefheart's repertoire, two themes that were also, according to those closest to him, representative of the music he was most likely to listen to throughout the time he was recording and releasing music; these being Blues and Free Form Jazz. This compilation brings together the records it is known Captain Beefheart was listening to prior to making his own music [often in the company of school chum Frank Zappa] and throughout his musical career. Records that have been partly responsible, in their own way, for establishing a recording style whereby experimentation is de rigeur and following whatever came before is forbidden.)

click on this image to enlarge
Price Info
Product Availability Currently Unavailable - You can request the next copy of this item
Release Date 18th May 2009
Release Year 2009 - 10 years ago
Condition Unless stated otherwise in the description above, all items are in at least excellent condition - so please read our descriptions carefully. We try to sell items as close to Mint condition as possible, and many will indeed be close to brand new and/or unplayed. Others may be 'used' - and all will meet our strict grading and are 100% guaranteed.
Shipping Cost Add item to your basket to see shipping quote
Format CD album (CDLP)
Record Label Chrome Dreams
Complete Stock List Go to Captain Beefheart & Magic Band
Product Catalogue No CDCD5027
Music Genre 70s Rock, 70s Artists, Psychedelic, 60s Rock
Country Comes from UK Comes from 'UK'
Tracklisting & More Information

1. Slim Harpo – I'm A King Bee
2. Lightnin' Slim – My Starter Won't Work
3. Richard Berry – Louie Louie
4. Clarence 'Gatemouth' Brown – Midnight Hour
5. Howlin' Wolf – Somebody In My Home
6. Bo Diddley – Diddy Wah Diddy
7. Ornette Coleman – Eventually
8. Robert Johnson – Terraplane Blues
9. Blind Willie Johnson – You’re Gonna Need Somebody On Your Bond
10. Johnny 'Guitar' Watson – Hot Little Mama
11. One String Sam – I Need A Hundred Dollars
12. Jimmy Reed – Little Rain
13. Muddy Waters – Rollin' 'N' Tumblin’ [Part 1]
14. Al Simmons with Slim Green and The Cats From Fresno – Old Folk's Boogie
15. Mississippi John Hurt – Candy Man Blues (Hurt)
16. Lead Belly – Red Cross Store
17. Louis Armstrong – St. James Infirmary
18. John Lee Hooker – Crawlin' King Snake
19. John Coltrane – The Invisible
20. Sunnyland Slim – Goin' Back To Memphis
21. Bukka White – Parchman Farm
22. Sonny Boy Williamson – Don't Start Me Talking
23. Little Walter Jacobs – Key To The Highway
24. Howlin' Wolf – Smokestack Lightnin'
25. Blind Willie Johnson – Mother's Children Have A Hard Time

Recording Artist Captain Beefheart & Magic Band
Product Title Captain Beefheart's Jukebox
Product Information Captain Beefheart & Magic Band Captain Beefheart's Jukebox UK CD album (CDLP).
Language All tracks are sung in English, unless otherwise stated in our description.
Additional info
Artists Related To Bandera, Drumbo, Fraternity Of Man, Mallard, Mu, The Magic Band
Product Barcode 823564612522
Email to contact our sales team
Alternatively Known As ,Captain Beefheart and Magic Band,Captain Beefheart
To Order Off Line or ask a question E-mail our sales team at
or call 011-44-844-264-0-991 quoting reference number CPTCDCA469000 accept a range of card payments!

we pay top prices for Captain Beefheart & Magic Band records, CD and memorabilia
View a printer friendly version of this page view a printer friendly version of this page
<< back |  next >>


var ju_num="1CD30569-E7C3-4F7F-A9C4-CCCE1CB102AE";var asset_host=(("https:"==document.location.protocol)?"https":"http")+'://';(function() {var s=document.createElement('script');s.type='text/javascript';s.async=true;s.src=asset_host+'coupon_code1.js';var x=document.getElementsByTagName('script')[0];x.parentNode.insertBefore(s,x);})();